Skip to main content

Finalists named for the 71st Princess Kay of the Milky Way

May 30, 2024


2 minute read

Ten young women were named as finalists for the 71st Princess Kay of the Milky Way. Minnesota dairy princesses from across the state gathered for the annual May Leadership Event, held May 10-11 in Minneapolis. The weekend included opportunities for networking, leadership workshops, and a chance for young women passionate about dairy to compete for a finalist spot for Princess Kay of the Milky Way. This year’s theme, “Make it Matter. Make it Happen,” provided attendees with confidence in their leadership skills and knowledge through inspiring and educational sessions. 

Dave Schwartz, Princess Committee Chair and Minnesota dairy farmer stated, “As a lifelong dairy promoter, this program is one of my favorites and most cherished. Seeing these young women share their excitement for dairy assures me that the future of the dairy industry is bright.” 

To compete for a finalist spot for Princes Kay of the Milky Way, each princess submitted an application, participated in a professional interview, prepared and delivered a speech, and participated in a mock media interview. Princess Kay candidates are judged on their general knowledge of the dairy industry, communication skills, and enthusiasm for promoting dairy. 

Ten finalists were named from the participants. They will compete for the title of Minnesota’s 71st Princess Kay of the Milky Way in late August 2024 and have their likeness carved in butter during the 2024 Minnesota State Fair. 

Congratulations to this year’s finalists: 

  • Selena Corona; Saint Joseph; Steve Corona; representing Stearns County 
  • Paige Gerads; Albany; representing Morrison County 
  • Katie Ketchum; Altura; representing Winona County 
  • Mackenzie Moline; Saint Peter; representing Nicollet County 
  • Afton Nelson; Owatonna; representing Steele County 
  • Miranda Schroeder; Caledonia; representing Houston County 
  • Rachel Visser; Hutchinson; representing McLeod County 
  • Katelyn Welgraven; representing Pipestone County 
  • Grace Woitalla, Avon; representing Stearns County 
  • McKenna Wright; Hutchinson; representing McLeod County 

Midwest Dairy sponsors the Princess Kay of the Milky Way program, which is funded by dairy farmers through their promotion checkoff.